Pettman/ROSL ARTS International Scholarship NZ: Winner Announced

Friday, 16 November 2012

The Rothko Quartet Olivia Francis, Emily Bouwhuis violins, Alex Macdonald viola, Cameron Stuart cello , although a recently formed group are no strangers to playing together – all its members have been section leaders in the Auckland Youth Orchestra and University of Auckland Orchestra. As part of a wider musical scene, they have encountered each other many times in different ensembles as sub principals of the National Youth Orchestra, DSCH Quartet, ARCO String Orchestra and University chamber groups.          

The Scholarship

  • Return flights from New Zealand to London
  • Accommodation and hospitality for four/five weeks in the UK
  • Cash award of £500 sterling each
  • Lunch time concert in London at St Martin in the Fields
  • Concerts for ROSL in London and Edinburgh (Edinburgh Festival Fringe)
  • Consultation lessons with prominent UK based teachers and visits to major UK conservatoires
  • Weeks participation in an International Summer School
  • Tickets for cultural events including BBC Proms, Royal Opera House, & Edinburgh Festival
  • The Rothko Quartet was selected from 11 different ensembles nominated by the Universities of Auckland; Otago, Dunedin; Victoria, Wellington; and Waikato, Hamilton at auditions held  14 - 16 November at the Academy of Performing Arts at the University of Waikato, Hamilton.

Three ensembles were selected for the Final Concert in the Dr John Gallagher Concert Chamber, Academy of Performing Arts Centre on Friday 16 November 2012: Rothko Quartet Olivia Francis, Emily Bouwhuis violins, Alex Macdonald viola, Cameron Stuart cello (University of Auckland); ETACETI Abigail Sperling flute, Robert Drage cello (University of Auckland); Taiaha Quartet Jin Kim, Ngaruaroha Martin violins, Adam Maha viola, Tamsin Kreymborg (University of Waikato, Hamilton). The Final concert was recorded and will be broadcast on Radio New Zealand Concert.

The adjudicating panel was the Leonore Trio:  Benjamin Nabarro violin, Gemma Rosefield cello and Timothy Horton piano, Roderick Lakin MBE, Director of Arts, Royal Over-Seas League, Euan Murdoch CEO, Chamber Music New Zealand, and Mark Walton OAM clarinet/saxophone  former Head of Wind/ performance Outreach, Sydney Conservatorium.

The panel was impressed by the quality of music making which all three groups achieved in the final concert. Any one of the groups would have made a worthy winner. The winners performed with great vitality, musicality and commitment. Individually and collectively they are at an ideal point in their professional development to take full advantage of the intensive performance and coaching opportunities which the scholarship offers.

During the Scholarship weekend, the Leonore Trio gave a concert of music by Haydn, Ravel, Rowland Jones and Dvorak (14 November) All participants had the opportunity for mentoring and coaching from the Leonore Trio and the scholarship judges, as well as receiving career development advice.

In addition to the Hamilton weekend the Leonore Trio concert tour included Waiheke Island (11 Nov),  Auckland (13 Nov), Hastings (18 Nov), opening of the Gisborne International Music Competition (20 & 21 Nov), Wellington Old Parliament Building (23 Nov); Each concert was given in aid of a different charity, including Sistema Aotearoa and Save the Children.  

Further Information:
Lyn Milne, Director ROSL NZ; PO Box 10, Diamond Harbour 8941 New Zealand.

P: +64 3 3294 332