National Finals Adjudicators 2017

Meet the Adjudicators

Ingrid Hagan has been the Principal Bassoon of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra for 7 years. During that time she has performed extensively throughout NZ as a soloist, orchestral member and chamber musician.

She performed the John Williams Concerto with the APO in 2013, a NZ premier. She also premiered the Nino Rota Concerto with the Bay of Plenty Orchestra. Prior to her tenure with the Auckland Philharmonia, she spent 3 seasons with the New World Symphony in Miami Beach, USA. Additionally, she has performed with the Norrkoping Symphony,Festival ensemble Stuttgart, and was principal of the Breckenridge Music Festival in 2009.

She has performed at the Aspen Music Festival and National Repertory festival in the USA. Hagan has participated in several international music competitions, notably placing 2nd in the Meg Quigley Vivaldi Competition 2007, honourable mention in the Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Competition 2011, and the Swiss Muri Competition 2013.


Brigid O'Meeghan, who is Assistant Sub-Principal Cello Emeritus in the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, was raised and educated in Christchurch. She first joined the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra as a twenty year-old in 1977 and after two years, moved to London for further studies. From 1981 – 1989, she was a member of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, during which time she taught cello and chamber music at the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts. Brigid was a faculty member of the Asian Youth Orchestra for seven years and has been a tutor at the Australian Youth Orchestra’s Summer Camp Programme.

From 1999 – 2003, Brigid was Coordinator of the NZSO National Youth Orchestra, a position she held concurrently with her playing role in the NZSO. She has taught cello at the University of Victoria and the University of Otago, and regularly tutors the cello sections of the Wellington Youth Orchestra, Youth Sinfonietta and Schola Sinfonica as part of the NZSO’s Education Programme.

Brigid has a long association with the NZCT Chamber Music Contest having been a district adjudicator and Contest coach many times.


Pianist, Stephen De Pledge teaches at the University of Auckland and performs internationally as a soloist and chamber musician.

He has given concerto performances with the Philharmonia (London), Bournemouth Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony, New London, New Zealand Symphony and Auckland Philharmonia orchestras. His discography includes many premiere recordings by composers including Bliss, Gorecki, and Arvo Pärt, for whom he made the world premiere recording of the piano sonatinas. In addition to his solo recordings, Stephen’s discography includes song cycles by Ned Rorem and Samuel Barber, and chamber music of Messiaen, Shostakovich and Schnittke.

Among his collaborations have been performances with Viktoria Mullova, Felicity Lott and Evelyn Glennie. Stephen has broadcast for Radio 3 and Classic FM in the UK, on radio in USA, Australia, New Zealand and Sweden, and for BBC Television.

Composition Adjudicator

Michael Norris is a composer, software developer and music theorist. He teaches composition and sonic arts at Victoria University of Wellington, is editor of Wai-te-ata Music Press, and directs Stroma New Music Ensemble. He is the recipient of the Mozart Fellowship in 2001, the Douglas Lilburn Prize in 2003, the CANZ Trust Fund Award in 2012, and the SOUNZ Contemporary Award in 2014. He has had works played by performers/groups such as the NZSO, Roberto Fabbriciani, Michael Houstoun, the NZSQ, NZTrio, the Viennese Saxophonic Orchestra, Ensemble Offspring, Ensemble Reconsil, the Ensemble Pierrot Lunaire Wien, and the Hilversum Radio Chamber Orchestra. Michael's suite of real-time audio effects, 'SoundMagic Spectral', is widely used in both industry and academia worldwide, by artists such as Aphex Twin and Brian Eno. Michael’s research interests include post-tonal theory, New Zealand music and the intersection between maths and music.